RSS

CORRUPTION IS EVERY WHERE-your say

02 Dec

PS- 9TH DECEMBER IS ANTI-CORRUPTION DAY- MAKE A DIFFERENCE BY BEING TRUE TO YOURSELF,REPORT CORRUPTION LET US SAY NO TO IT. DON’T GIVE BRIBES.

I went to some remote place in the Rift Valley during the World AIDS day and happened to meet some old man from Turkana. He caught my attention and wanted to know more about him and why he was there. We talked and he really opened up. Despite the language barrier I some how got his story. It really touched me to learn that media cover so much of their problems but no much help is offered. Corruption according to him is so rampant in their area and has become like a way of life. His is a sad story and the reason he was in Nakuru is because he was seeking some justice.Below is his story:

My wife was really sick and I had to rush her to hospital. She had some bleeding that wouldn’t stop. It saddens me when I remember I LOST HER due to some corrupt doctors who could not attend to her despite her emergency state. Up to now 4years on am still seeking for some justice and my 8 kids who were left at a tender age have nothing to eat and education to them is history.

The patron in charge told me that all beds are booked and there is no space unless i had an extra Kshs.5000 for her to look for an extra bed. Can you imagine having a patient in this case some one close to you who is bleeding profusely in a condition that no one understands what it is, then this silly patron says i give her an extra KSh 5000.Seriously what was I supposed to do having less than two thousand bob?

It pains me when i remember that my wife died in my hands in our rural home where hospitals are miles and miles away. Can we please address this issue with some seriousness? In my home area even getting security from the police you need to bribe them in short we are the poorest in the country and we suffer the most because the government has neglected us. We feel like we are not part of Kenya. The relief food sent by Red Cross some people take advantage and sell it to us.

It is so sad. The irony here is that we have the most problems yet I feel that we are the most corrupt because our families need all these basic needs which do not come easily especially for those who have no money. The government has forgotten about us and we have lost our only source of life-our cattle, sheep, goat and camels. There are no rains and diseases like cholera are killing my people like flash.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “CORRUPTION IS EVERY WHERE-your say

  1. mzeiya

    December 2, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    This is so unbelievable. Hospitals also ask for bribes? My God! what kind of a country are we leaving in? Am so over shocked. I pity the old man and his many children and like he said it is so ironical that these people in these areas suffer a lot and their problems keep getting worse each day.
    Am sorry but something has to be done we have all witnessed it in the media and the suffering these people go through. In Turkana its really bad.God forbid and i hope he gets some justice. Thank you
    Angry Kenyan.

     
  2. Mohanne

    December 2, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    It can hardly be said that corruption in Kenya is limited to a few rogue officials at the top. The culture of corruption has grown roots in society at large and become endemic.
    It is sad to learn that people in areas like Turkana and such also face the problem of this vice. Truly people are beasts. How do you let someone bleed to death? For Christs sake because of money 5000 thousands only. Kenya oh Kenya. Can we know the name of the hospital and where this matter is being handled? I can personally help this old man out and get some justice. Please get back to me on this number or email me.

    We need to do something bloggers’ open up there are so many other things happening out there but without this media we cant know. What kind of a government do we have surely. Every time it is just politics,Mau forest ,censor motions and many stupid things that Kenyans care less about.

     
  3. Caleb

    December 3, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Can i please know how to reach the old man. Kindly let me know where i can get him or even his family. I will assist him this is cold murder. How do you love money than life. Jeez hii ni stupidity. Please reach me on this email address. I will inbox my number on the face book corruption group…

    I will try my level best to see justice prevail.

     
  4. muchina

    December 3, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    No! corruption cant be this bad. Its unbelievable my God. lives lost coz of a corrupt nurse or the so called patron. Its is so sad that we cannot believe.I know the pain of loosing a loved one especially a wife.It is so sad i pitty this old man. 4real somthing has to be done. Corruption is real. I know even getting a new ID IS ALSO A HUSSTLE. I lost one i was asked to pay 500 bob to get another one in a weeks time.
    this is craizy u know

     
  5. CELESTINE

    December 4, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    This is serious.It is true that this is happening in many of our public hospitals where one has to use back door deals to be served and not only in the hospitals but also in nearly all the government institutions.You remember the story covered by KTN reporters last week about corruption in the Kenyan harbors and the KRA? One surprising issue is that whenever we as Kenyans at the grass root level reveal these underground corruption routes we are being threatened and the government is quiet.To me kenya should not be given any kind of aid cos it has a lot of money and resources being handled by greedy people.I pity that old man i cannot believe losing your beloved cos of only kshs.5000

     
  6. Juddy

    December 4, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    This is outright murder!!! Doctors, nurses swear an oath to preserve life (I stand to be corrected in case am misinformed). Yet in this case that was not observed. Do unto others what you’d like to be done to you. Times are hard and everyone is looking at earning an extra coin. Let us therefore not compromise our faith, integrity, self-worth in search of that extra coin. Do the right thing even when everyone else is doing the wrong thing.

     
  7. Juddy

    December 4, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    This is outright murder!!! Doctors, nurses swear an oath to preserve life (I stand to be corrected incase am misinformed). Yet in this case that was not observed. Do unto others what you’d like to be done to you. Times are hard and everyone is looking at earning an extra coin. Let us therefore not compromise our faith, integrity, self-worth in search of that extra coin. Do the right thing even when everyone else is doing the wrong thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
