RSS

YOUR STORY-MISTAKEN FOR A HAWKER.

26 Oct

HAWKERS
I thank you for this site. I am very bitter as i write down what happened to me one Friday evening as i was headed home from the office. They were so many kanjuz in town-City councils. They were arresting hawkers.We all know that we ladies carry this huge hand bags and being a Friday i was going to spend at a friends place so i had some clothes. So i decided to call my brother to inform him about the situation because even the kawaida cops were so many.

When i was in the middle of the conversation saying “don’t come this side they are so many” before i even finished i felt a tight grab on my hand someone shouting at me “wewe hawker unaambia wenzako wasikuje huku” (You hawker your telling your colleagues not to come we are here) i told them am not a hawker they slapped me and forcefully pushed me into their lorry in my 6 inch heels. I cried so much as we were being taken to Kamukunji i requested one of the guards to call my parents and inform them.

He requested that i give him KSH 100 and credit worth 50bob i had no option so i quickly gave him KSH 150. When my parents came i was charged with hawking despite showing my job ID they said i had to part with KSH 3500 if i wanted release. My mum was so shocked because she dint have that much. We begged them to take Ksh 3000 but they refused saying that little to divide among men with families. I was so heart broken and i couldn’t stand the smell in the dirty cells. My parents sort help and finally my brother came to our rescue.
Corruption in our country is so real and its every where. These askaris from city council are pathetic and so selfish despite revealing my JOB ID they still insisted that i was a hawker..Ladies be warned with your huge hand bags. My request is they should style up.

Angry Kenya.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “YOUR STORY-MISTAKEN FOR A HAWKER.

  1. Asha Jaldrine Mkawajomba

    October 27, 2009 at 9:18 am

    It was a shock but the other day I was going to work I saw the city council vans which is a normal thing in town, they are always everywhere but on that particular day something unsual captured my attention. The van was full of people so my guess was that they had been arrested, which turned out to be true but why was the van driving into an alley instead of taking the offenders to face their punishment…..were they really offenders or the city council wanted free money to start off their early morning. I couldn’t resist…I wanted to see what was going to happen so I followed the van into the alley pretending that I was just a passerby, it was a route anyone could use anyway. Trust me what i saw was a great shock to me.Through those small ventilations, the people inside were giving out bribes to the city council people and it was then that the back door of the van was opened and you were let out. Oh my God, in broad daylight. Where is Kenya heading to? Poor those who had no money to bail themselves out. I wish I had a camera to capture the whole scene for showing proof….next time I will.

     

Leave a Reply

 
