RSS

THIS IS YOUR BLOG-TELL YOUR STORY HERE.

21 Oct

report bbbbbRecent studies and research show that Kenya is among the most corrupt country in Africa today.We as citizens lack the proper platforms to report these increased cases. In one way or another we have been victims of this vice and sad to say that many of us have parted ways with very huge sum of money.
This reason triggered someone to come up with this blog so that you and other oppressed people can actually report or tell other readers his or her story on corruption.

Just for you to briefly know what this blog is all about: This blog is aimed at empowering citizens to demand for efficient and effective services delivery from public and private institutions leading to transparent service delivery. The blog also seek to identify operational as well as institutional weaknesses that may hamper service delivery by creating opportunities for corrupt practices.

The blog is committed to empowering citizen in the fight against corruption by giving you a chance to say it out aloud freely. Go on hit the blog and tell your story.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “THIS IS YOUR BLOG-TELL YOUR STORY HERE.

  1. otudho

    October 22, 2009 at 9:15 am

    What a site? I learnt about this from a friend on face book and i tell you this is what we need. The stories are great especially because they are showing the other side that Kenyans need to know.Keep up its really encouraging despite the likes of KACC which takes long to investigate cases and bring culprits to book. This site is good because what i write here Kenyans will read.
    I am a civil servant and i tell you people corruption is real.Sorry to say that am part of it.Please understand why i say its hard to finish corruption because people lead us into this mess and i mean our clients and employers.This is because i get very little pay that cant meet my daily basic needs and here i am with a typical Kenyan who wants things done faster for him or her and is trully willing to part with 3000 Kenyan money which i need so badly. If it were u what could you do? take the money! Yes.
    By the way i don’t even blame the government for some of this issues because most of the times our bosses hardly know what goes on its really secretive. all i want to say is that if its possible for us to live equally then corruption will be thing of the past..
    Thanks for this blog i hope to stop my ways of taking kitu kidogo if only i get a pay rise…

     
  2. Gitahi

    October 23, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    This is Kenya…that is all i can say. with a little bribe you get a way with everything. I totally agree with Otudho.Just like any normal being theres no way my family can suffer even go without food and someone come offering me some money to just do something for her/him and i refuse.I will take and do wat he wants….

    This a good blog but trully speaking corruption will never end in Kenya no matter what we try to do..i read on your post that the first corruption act was made many years ago and keeps getting worse…

    Me and you we decide to live equally which is abit abnormal and impossible.

     
  3. Asha Jaldrine Mkawajomba

    October 23, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    One Saturday afternoon I left home saying goodbye to my parents to go visit my aunty. It was the time of ramadhan so there was no much action nor movement in town. After the evening meal, I decided to go to town and meet my friends to some night shopping before we celebrated Idd-il-fitr. After we were done with the shopping, we left back for home. I alighted at the stage and am hoping you have not forgotten that I was spending at my aunties place. I was walking with so many people along that same street.

    I then came to notice that people were being stopped on the way and I did not know by whom but I came to find out that it was the police. I was also stopped and joined the crowd. They asked for our national id’s and asked why we were walking at that time of the night, for God’s sake it was just 9 o’clock. They had nothing to hold us but do you know they let all the rest go and I was left with them. So I asked them, what was so different with the others that they let them go and are still holding me with no reason but the hurled insults and abuse at me. I came to notice that the police were chewing miraa and there was a stench of alcohol so they must have been drank. I explained to them that I had come to visit my aunty after they took me to the local watchmen which they call sungusungu to identify if they know me.

    That pissed me off but there was nothing I would do. I had to tag along with them for almost 3 hours like I was a policewoman….shame on them. Then I finally told them to take to the police station and charge me with whatever offence they had found me with. They said If I want them to let me go then I should give them something small and if not they will walk with me till morning. I asked them how much, they aid that was up to me. I had no money with me, so I had to take them to my aunties to give them the cash. I gave them 100kshs, they threw it on my face and demanded 500kshs. I was too exhausted to argue so my aunty gave them the 500. Keep in mind these are kenyan policemen who are asking for bribe from an innocent person, as more crimes are happening they are busy arresting innocent people trying to solicit money out of them. If Kenya is not corrupt then what are we?

     
  4. Asha Jaldrine Mkawajomba

    October 23, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I had not read the previous comments before I posted mine but am shocked at how some Kenyans can talk about their own country. To Gitahi: change can come to Kenya is we work hard to do so. If its tackled from the roots then we can deal with the problem but the question remains’Are we ready for that change?’. I dont think it will ever come to pas with people of your kind. You cannot let your family suffer but you have two hands and legs and a brain, so that means you can work and fend for that family. Do you want to tell me that if someone gives you money to go and kill someone you will in the name of providing for your family. That is a bad notion that you have Gitahi and for the sake of change in Kenya you need to be more positive. I rest my case.
    o

     

Leave a Reply

 
